News Navigation

AAF Luncheon Inspires New Generation of Creative Talent

By Jackie Anzaldi, Senior Art Director, New York
On Tuesday, Nov. 13, advertising and marketing professionals in their business-casual best gathered inside Cipriani’s grand dining room to honor the 2012 Advertising Hall of Achievement inductees. In the American Advertising Federation’s (AAF) own words, “the Advertising Hall of Achievement is the industry's premier award for outstanding advertising leaders age 40 and under. The American Advertising Federation established this program in 1993 as a way to recognize young talented individuals who are making a significant impact on the advertising industry.”
It wasn’t hard to believe that the seven over-achieving minds honored at the luncheon had accomplished so much. But that they had accomplished so much before the age of 40 was nothing short of impressive, not to mention inspiring for us younger, wide-eyed professionals in attendance. The new inductees included:
Erin Clift, Vice President, Global Marketing & Partnerships, Spotify
Georgina Flores, Director of Marketing, Allstate Insurance Company
Rei Inamoto, Chief Creative Officer, AKQA
Howard Mittman, VP & Publisher, WIRED, Conde Nast
Tor Myhren, President and Chief Creative Officer, Grey New York
Marc Speichert, Chief Marketing Officer, L’Oreal USA
Lisa Weinstein, President, Global Digital, Data & Analytics, Starcom MediaVest Group
Heartfelt introductions and entertaining induction videos prefaced the acceptance speeches, which only solidified that our industry holds remarkable opportunities for innovation and equally remarkable leadership. From infant companies and established brands to ad agencies with legendary creative under their belt, each honoree represented their corner of the industry with palpable enthusiasm.
For dessert, the AAF introduced the recipient of the Special Award for Charitable Works to Children’s Hospital’s: Max Page, best known for his role as “Little Darth Vader” from Volkswagen’s 2011 “The Force” commercial.
Eight truly unique individuals walked away with their AAF star. The rest of us walked away with perhaps a little more drive and passion for what we do and how we do it.